The Soup Kitchen

IMG_1454_fotor_fotor

As a student, I love those cheap and cheerful (homemade) meals which satisfy that gaping hole at lunchtime.

This is why soups are a must in my life!

On Friday, I went on a soup making rampage with all the leftovers in my cupboard, and made two big batches of scrummy, spicy soup (Tomato and Lentil, respectively)

These take no time at all – the main thing that needs to cook out is the lentils so these soups can be made from chopping board to bowl in under 30 mins.

The only funny gadget I use is a hand stick blender – this is something I would highly recommend buying if you are interested in making soup. It produces lovely silky soup – perfect for any midday meal or as a starter for dinner.

Now, everyone has their own favourite bread accompaniment to soup. Personally, I love a good chunk of crusty, seeded brown bread, without butter.

Enjoy!

Thick Tomato Soup (makes 6 portions)

Ingredients

1 tin of chopped tomatoes

1/2 a mug of lentils

1 vegetable stock cube

1 onion

Boiling Water

Ground Cumin

Cayenne Chilli Powder

Method

Add the tomatoes, lentils, onions and spices to taste into a big pot – I always add about 5 shakes of cumin to one shake of chilli, but I’m not a big fan of spicy food.

Pour in enough water for everything to be ‘swimming freely’ – bear in mind that the lentils will expand

Bring to the boil and add the stock cube

Simmer with the lid on for 15-20mins, then whizz with a hand blender until smooth

Bring back to the boil and serve with bread.

Spiced Lentil Soup (makes 6 portions)

Ingredients

1 mug of red split lentils

1 vegetable stock cube

Ground Cumin

Chilli

1 onion

Boiling Water

Add the onion, lentils and spices to a pan

Pour in boiling water until everything is ‘swimming freely’ in the pan

Add the stock cube and bring to the boil

Simmer for 15-20mins then whizz with a hand blender

Bring back to the boil and serve with bread.

7 responses to “The Soup Kitchen

  1. Pingback: Spicy Lentil Soup – #MeatFreeMonday | Coming Clean·

    • I’ve never tried unblended lentil soup before! I’ll give that a go at some point. I never blend when i’m doing my family’s famous veg soup with leeks, carrots, rice and onions. You almost feel like your getting more of the goodness out of the ingredients when you’re eating an unblended soup. I’ll put up my grandpa’s veg soup up in a coming week, its my favourite!

Leave a Reply

